African organisations

African Union
The objectives of the African Union, initially created to free the continent of the traces of colonialism and apartheid, are the desire to intensify and coordinate the cooperation for development, to safeguard the sovereignty and territorial integrity of member states, to accelerate the political and socio-economic integration of the continent, and to promote international cooperation within the framework of the United Nations.


Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS, or CEDAO in Spanish)
ECOWAS is a regional group of fifteen West African countries, founded in 1975. Its primary mission is to promote economic integration in all the fields of economic activity, particularly industry, transport, telecommunications, energy, agriculture, natural resources and commerce.


African Development Bank (AfDB)
AfDB's priorities are the fight against poverty, the improvement of the living conditions of African people, and the search for resources for the economic and social advancement of member countries. The main objective of AfDB is to contribute towards the economic development and social advancement of African countries, both individually and collectively. In this sense, its greatest challenge is the reduction of poverty in the continent, stimulating and mobilising internal and external resources, promoting investments, and providing technical and financial assistance to its member countries.


The New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD)
It offers the vision and the strategic framework for the renewal of Africa. Its objectives are to eradicate poverty, to place African countries in the path of growth and sustainable development, to accelerate the empowerment of women, and to improve the social integration of Africa in the world economy. NEPAD´s framework document originates from a mandate given to the five initial chiefs of state (Algeria, Egypt, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa) by the Organisation of African Unity (OAU), with the aim of implementing a socio-economic development framework for Africa. In July of 2001, the 37th OAU Summit formally adopted the definitive framework document. 


Southern African Development Community (SADC)
The priority objectives of the Southern African Development Community are the promotion of sustainable and equitable growth and socio-economic development that will ensure the alleviation and eradication of poverty; the promotion of common political values and systems which are transmitted through institutions that are democratic, efficient and legitimate; andthe consolidation and maintenance of democracy, peace and security. The current member states are Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius Island, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The SADC headquarters are located in Gaborone, Botswana.


The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) of Eastern Africa was created in 1996 to replace the Intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development (IGADD), founded in 1986. The recurrence of severe droughts and other catastrophes between 1974 and 1984 caused famine, ecological degradation and economic difficulty in the region. Although the countries made substantial individual efforts towards facing the situation, and they received generous support from the international community, the magnitude and the extent of the problem fostered a regional rapprochement for supplementing national efforts. IGAD originated in this manner, and its mission is summarised in assisting and supplementing the efforts of its member states in order to achieve, through increased cooperation, food safety and environmental protection, maintaining peace and security, and economic cooperation and integration.


The African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP) is an organisation created by the Georgetown Agreement in 1975. The main objectives of the ACP Group are:  sustainable development and its progressive integration in the world economy, which entails the priority fight against poverty and the establishment of a new world order that is more fair and equitable; the consolidation of unity and solidarity between member states, as well as understanding between people, and the establishment and consolidation of peace and stability in an environment of democracy and freedom. 


Organismos de Naciones Unidas con sede en África

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA)
Created in 1958, the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa is one of the five regional commissions that administratively depend on the UN headquarters. As the regional body of the UN in Africa, its purpose is to support the economic and social development of its 53 members, to encourage regional integration, and to promote international cooperation for the development of Africa. It submits reports to the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), and it consists of six organisational divisions responsible for the execution of programmes: Policies and Management of Development; Economic and Social Policy; Gender and Development; Information for Development; Sustainable Development; Commerce and Regional Integration.


United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM)
UNIFEM focuses on women´s rights and works towards obtaining gender equality. It provides financial and technical assistance for innovative projects and strategies that promote women´s empowerment. The Fund operates on the premise that every woman has the fundamental right to live a life without discrimination or violence, and that gender equality is essential for achieving the development and construction of societies that are more fair. Created in 1976, UNIFEM has worked with women around the world. It maintains strong ties with women´s organisations and governments,  linking them through the UN in order to unify national and international political action, and to work together for change.



Recibe nuestro boletín electrónico semanal con las actividades y noticias de Casa África.


En nuestra agenda

Actualmente no hay eventos en Casa África


Accede a nuestro fondo documental de libros, películas y música.

Quiénes somos

Quiénes somos

Conoce Casa África por dentro: misión y objetivos, organigrama, dónde estamos,...